Goal-rilla

Hey everyone,

Before we get started, I wanted to send a huge THANK YOU to everyone who has supported me thus far. Every year I compete in this event, I am blown away by the quality of the people in my life. Y’all are inspiring, and really keep me going. Thanks for being awesome.

We are now less than a month from competition day, so training (and fundraising) is really heating up. The training is both exhausting and repetitive. When I’m dragging or in need of some motivation, I like to think of the advice of a couple of my past strength coaches:

1. “BE AN ATHLETE LIKE THE SILVER BACK GORILLA!”
Coach Jackson, Plano East Senior High School, circa 2005

2. “Coach, what should I eat to gain weight?
–Bananas. Have you ever seen a small gorilla??”

Coach Fitzgerald AKA Fit Dawg, Harvard University, circa 2007

If these two meathead philosophers (I say that with deference—I can only hope to one day be referred to in such a way) give gorillas so much credit, they must be doing something right. So I decided to mix it up with some gorilla training. Just call me the Goal-rilla.

(Big thanks to Eric Rosenstock and CrossFit Deep for allowing me to monkey around in their gym)

As you can see, I have officially entered the “I will wear pretty much any costume and risk bodily injury in order to raise another $5,000” phase of my fundraising. I am, quite literally, your monkey. This is how I feel right now:

You could make me feel much better by donating to pediatric cancer research at the link below:

https://www.thedecathlon.org/competitor/?userid=941

Thanks again for your support, and for your time. Have a safe and happy Memorial Day.

Best,

CZ_Gorilla

Leave a Reply

